Christmas Time is Here!

So there are two possible explanations for all this white stuff on the ground: either God has a bad case of dandruff (in which case, eww…) or the Christmas season has come at last! …it’s definitely the second reason. This has been an exciting season so far with a lot of traveling for me. During this time, I work with our Divisional Music Directors Tom Hanton and Greg Payton playing around the Metro Detroit area at different events to support the Salvation Army’s Red Kettle efforts. We play at events such as rotary luncheons, Red Wings games, Kettle kickoffs, and the like. Just this morning we played at Leon’s Family Diner in Dearborn with their rotary club and other esteemed guests. It was a great time. I’ve also had the privilege of taking part in a four weekend long Salvation Army brass band excursion, if you will. The past four weekends consisted of concerts with the Eastern Michigan Divisional Band, Canadian Staff Band, OCE Divisional Youth Chorus, Flint Citadel Band, Dearborn Heights Citadel Band & Songsters, Chicago Staff Band, Sara Groves, Mayfair Community Church Band, and the Norridge Citadel Band. I’ve also had the opportunity to play Flugel Horn with the Oakbrook Terrace Band (B/M Shawn Okpebholo) and play Cornet with an ensemble at the Tri-City Corps with Ron & Carol Hedgren and a few others. God has blessed me with all these great experiences and all the wonderful people I’ve been able to be with during that time.

One of the events I attended during this excursion was the Mayfair Community Church’s 25th anniversary concert featuring both their corps band (B/M Peter Kim) and the Norridge Citadel Band (B/M Peggy Thomas), in addition to Paul & Kay Rader (R). In addition to wonderful pieces from the pen of Paul Lovatt-Cooper, Sam Park, Andrew Wainwright, and BMK himself, I was treated with the world premiere performance of my newest piece “Whom Shall I Fear?” I am indebted to Peggy and the band for giving it a spectacular performance and capturing the essence of the piece. It was a great way to end this excursion. A video of the performance can be seen here:

Now that the year of 2013 is drawing to a close, it is time for me to consider what kinds of pieces I will focus on to write during the course of 2014. I’ll put out a list of the pieces that I want to do in early January (probably before the Composers’ Forum) but if you, the audience, have any suggestions or ideas or commissions that you would like me to write, please either leave a comment below or email me at Mbesi_Fred@rocketmail.com.

Merry Christmas from TroyFred Productions!

Leave a Reply

